Academic Dean & Provost Staff  

Dr. Phillips

Dr. Andrew T. Phillips

Academic Dean and Provost

Andrew Phillips is the Academic Dean and Provost at the U.S. Naval Academy. He became the chief academic officer in 2009 after having served as Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies at the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire from 2004-2009.

As the Academic Dean and Provost, Dr. Phillips is responsible for leadership and oversight of all facets of the Naval Academy academic program including the Division of Engineering and Weapons, Division of Mathematics and Science, and Division of Humanities and Social Science. While at the Naval Academy, he has helped lead the development of the new Center for Cyber Security Studies, the Naval Academy Science and Engineering Conference, and the expansion of international program opportunities for midshipmen. As the Academic Dean, Dr. Phillips also is responsible for leadership and oversight of all faculty personnel matters, the Naval Academy library, museum, registrar, research and scholarship office, International Programs Office, Center for Regional Studies, Center for Academic Excellence, and campus assessment program.

Dr. Phillips began his academic career as a civilian faculty member in the Computer Science department at the U.S. Naval Academy in 1988. In 1998 he moved to UW-Eau Claire to serve as chair of the Computer Science department, a position he held until he became the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies in 2004. Dr. Phillips has been a program evaluator for ABET, Inc., since 1997, and was a member of its Computing Accreditation Commission from 2004-2009. He is also the current President of the Computer Science Accreditation Board (CSAB), and a Team Chair/Program Evaluator for the Middles States Commission on Higher Education.

Dr. Phillips is a 1984 graduate of the Pennsylvania State University with a B.S. degree in both Mathematics and Computer Science, and he earned his masters (in 1986) and doctor of philosophy (in 1988) degrees, both in Computer Science, at the University of Minnesota.

Back to top