Library Departments

Nimitz Library Professional Academic Staff and Nimitz Library Staff Listing

  • Library Information: 410-293-2420
  • Circulation Desk: 410-293-6945

Acquisitions Department

Margaret Danchik, Department Head

410-293-6953 danchik@usna.edu

Responsible for ordering and receiving books, periodicals, government documents, and technical reports, Interlibrary Loan Borrowing and Lending, Document Delivery, Binding, and Budget Preparation.

Administration

James Rettig, Library Director and Associate Dean for Information Services

410-293-6903 rettig@usna.edu

Responsible for the administration of all Library operations.

Patti Patterson, Associate Library Director

410-293-6903 patters@usna.edu

Responsible for the coordination of Acquisitions, Cataloging, Circulation, Collection Development, Special Collections & Archives, Reference, and Systems, and for matters involving the building.

Cataloging Department

Laura Nauta, Department Head

410-293-6963 nauta@usna.edu

Responsible for cataloging books, periodicals, electronic resources, Trident reports, honors papers, and for maintaining the Library's Periodicals Holdings List.

Circulation Department

Kathy Lang, Acting Department Head

410-293-6943 lang@usna.edu

Responsible for checking out library material; maintaining loan records; sending overdue notices; physical processing of new books; and shelving books, periodicals and other library material.

Collection Development

Larry Clemens, Department Head

410-293-6926 clemens@usna.edu

Responsible for overseeing the Library's general collections, including electronic resources.

Reference & Instruction Department

Barbara Kemp, Department Head

410-293-6975 bkemp@usna.edu

Responsible for library instruction, faculty liaison, and reference desk assistance.

Special Collections & Archives Department

Dr. Jennifer Bryan, Department Head and Archivist

410-293-6904 bryan@usna.edu

Responsible for Special Collections and Archives operation.

Systems Department

Bill Murray, Department Head

410-293-6966 murray@usna.edu

Responsible for library systems and automation support.