USNA | Hours

Nimitz Library is primarily for the use of USNA Midshipmen, Faculty and Staff. Retired military living in the Annapolis area and authorized researchers may make use of the Library's resources under certain conditions. For more details please review our Borrowing Eligibility and About the Library pages, or contact the Library Director, Jim Rettig.


Fall/Spring Academic Hours

The Library may deviate from our regular hours during holidays and events, and the Library is closed for all home football games. Special announcements about our hours also appear on the Library's home page.

Monday - Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Library 0730-2345 0730-2200 1000-1800 1000-2345
Reference Desk 0745-2200 0745-1700 Closed 1330-2200
Special Collections* 1230-1630 1230-1630 Closed Closed
MSC Graphics 0730-2300 0730-1700 Closed Closed

Note: Special Collections & Archives is open to researchers by appointment only M-F, 0800-1200. To schedule an appointment please call 410-293-6917 or contact Jennifer Bryan.

Federal Holiday Hours

On most Federal Holidays the Library is open: 1000-2345.

The Library is closed on the following Federal Holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.


Detailed Schedule Information

Academic Semester Fall 2014, beginning Wed, 20 Aug 2014 0730-2345

Home Football Games – Library Closed
Sat, 30 Aug
Ohio State
Sat, 20 Sep
Rutgers
Sat, 27 Sep
Western Kentucky
Sat, 11 Oct
VMI
Sat, 25 Oct
San Jose State
Sat, 1 Nov
Notre Dame
Sat, 15 Nov
Georgia Southern
Sat, 13 Dec
Army
Labor Day Weekend
Sat, 30 Aug
CLOSED
Sun, 31 Aug
1000-2000
Mon, 1 Sep (No Classes)
1000-2345
Columbus Day Weekend
Sat, 11 Oct
CLOSED
Sun, 12 Oct
1000-2345
Mon, 13 Oct (No Classes)
1000-2345
Veteran’s Day
Tue, 11 Nov (No Classes)
1000-2345
Thanksgiving Holiday Weekend
Wed, 26 Nov
0630-1700
Thurs, 27 Nov
CLOSED
Fri, 28 Nov
0800-1700
Sat, 29 Nov
CLOSED
Sun, 30 Nov
1000-2345
Army Game Weekend
Fri, 12 Dec
0700-2000
Sat, 13 Dec
CLOSED
Sun, 14 Dec
1000-2345
Final Exam Period Hours
Wed, 10 Dec – Thurs, 11 Dec
0700-2345
Fri, 12 Dec
0700-2000
Sat, 13 Dec
CLOSED (Army game)
Sun, 14 Dec
1000-2345
Mon, 15 Dec – Fri, 19 Dec
0700-2345
Sat, 20 Dec
0700-2000
End of Semester Leave and Intersessional Period
Sun 21 Dec – Tue Jan 6 2015
Mon – Fri 0730-1700
Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays

Regular hours of operation for the Nimitz Library during the Spring Semester are the same as the Fall Semester.

Academic Semester Spring 2015, beginning Wed, 7 Jan 2015 0730-2345

Martin Luther King’s Birthday Weekend
Sat, 17 Jan
1000-1800
Sun, 18 Jan
1000-2000
Mon, 19 Jan (No Classes)
1000-2345
Washington’s Birthday Weekend
Sat, 14 Feb
1000-1800
Sun, 15 Feb
1000-2345
Mon, 16 Feb
1000-2345
Spring Break
Fri, 13 Mar
0630-1700
Sat, 14 Mar – Sun 15 Mar
CLOSED
Mon, 16 Mar – Fri, 20 Mar
0730-1700
Sat, 21 Mar
CLOSED
Sun, 22 Mar
1000-2345
Easter Sunday
Sun, 5 Apr
1200-2345
Final Exam Period Hours
Fri, 1 May
0700-2345
Sat, 2 May
0700-2000
Sun, 3 May
1000-2345
Mon, 4 May – Thurs, 7 May
0700-2345
Fri, 9 May
0700-2000

Academic Semester Summer 2015

Summer Hours
Begin Saturday, 9 May 2015
Monday – Friday, 0730-1700
Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays
 
Nimitz Library
About The Library
USNA Home

For more news about USNA, visit us on

facebook       Flickr       YouTube       Twitter       News(Rss)