Library Hours

Nimitz Library is primarily for the use of USNA Midshipmen, Faculty and Staff. Retired military living in the Annapolis area and authorized researchers may make use of the Library's resources under certain conditions. For more details please review our Borrowing Privileges and Library Information pages, or contact Library Director Jim Rettig.


Academic Semester Fall 2013, beginning Mon, 19 Aug 2013 0730-2345

  MON TUE WED THURS FRI SAT SUN
Library 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2200 1000-1800 1000-2345
Circulation Desk 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2345 0730-2200 1000-1800 1000-2345
Reference Desk 0745-2200 0745-2200 0745-2200 0745-2200 0745-1700 Closed 1330-2200
SC & A* 1230-1630 1230-1630 1230-1630 1230-1630 1230-1630 Closed Closed
MSC Graphics 0730-2300 0730-2300 0730-2300 0730-2300 0730-1700 Closed Closed

* Special Collections & Archives Note: This Department is open to researchers by appointment only M-Th, 0800-1200. To schedule an appointment please call 410-293-6917 or contact Jennifer Bryan.

Federal Holiday Hours

On most Federal Holidays the Library is open: 1000-2345.

The Library is closed on the following Federal Holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.


Detailed Schedule Information

Academic Semester Fall 2013, beginning Mon, 19 Aug 2013 0730-2345

Labor Day Weekend
Sat, 31 Aug
1000-1800
Sun, 1 Sep
1000-2000
Mon, 2 Sep (No Classes)
1000-2345
Home football game against Delaware
Sat, 14 Sep
Closed
Home football game against Air Force
Sat, 5 Oct
Closed
Columbus Day Weekend
Sat, 12 Oct
1000-1800
Sun, 13 Oct
1000-2345
Mon, 14 Oct (No Classes)
1000-2345
Home football game against Pittsburgh
Sat, 26 Oct
Closed
Home football game against Hawaii
Sat, 9 Nov
Closed
Veterans Day Weekend
Sat, 9 Nov
Closed (Home Football Game)
Sun, 10 Nov
1000-2345
Mon, 11 Nov (No Classes)
1000-2345
Home football game against South Alabama
Sat, 16 Nov
Closed
Thanksgiving Holiday Weekend
Wed, 27 Nov
0630-1700
Thurs, 28 Nov
Closed
Fri, 29 Nov
0800-1700
Sat, 30 Nov
Closed
Sun, 1 Dec
1000-2345
Army Game Weekend
Fri, 13 Dec
0700-2200
Sat, 14 Dec
Closed
Sun, 15 Dec
1000-2345
Final Exam Period Hours
Fri, 6 Dec
0700-2345
Sat, 7 Dec
0700-2000
Sun, 8 Dec
1000-2345
Mon, 9 Dec - Thurs, 12 Dec
0700-2345
Fri, 13 Dec
0700-2200
Sat, 14 Dec
Closed (Army Game)
Sun, 15 Dec
1000-2345
Mon, 16 Dec
0700-2345
Tues, 17 Dec
0700-2345
Wed, 18 Dec
0700-2000
End of Semester Leave and Intersessional Period
Thurs, 19 Dec - Mon, Jan 6
Mon - Fri, 0730-1700
Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays

Regular hours of operation for the Nimitz Library during the Spring Semester are the same as for the Fall Semester.

Academic Semester Spring 2014, beginning Tue, 7 Jan 2014 0730-2345

Martin Luther King's Birthday Weekend
Sat, 18 Jan
1000-1800
Sun, 19 Jan
1000-2000
Mon, 20 Jan (No Classes)
1000-2345
Washington's Birthday Weekend
Sat, 15 Feb
1000-1800
Sun, 16 Feb
1000-2345
Mon, 17 Feb (No Classes)
1000-2345
Spring Break
Fri, 7 Mar
0630-1700
Sat, 8 Mar - Sun, 9 Mar
Closed
Mon, 10 Mar - Fri, 14 Mar
0730-1700
Sat, 15 Mar
Closed
Sun, 16 Mar
1000-2345
Easter Sunday
Sun, 20 Apr
1200-2345
Final Exam Period Hours
Thu, 1 May
0700-2345
Fri, 2 May
0700-2345
Sat, 3 May
0700-2000
Sun, 4 May
1000-2345
Mon, 5 May-Wed, 7 May
0700-2345
Thu, 8 May
0700-2000

Academic Semester Summer 2014

Summer Hours
Begin Fri, 9 May 2014
Monday-Friday, 0730-1700
Closed Saturdays, Sundays, and Holidays
Plebe Parents' Weekend
August 2014
0800-1700