Mechanical Engineering Department  

Student Highlights Faculty Highlights Research Highlights

1/C Midshipmen in Prof. Patrick Caton's EM461 Elective travel to Volvo's manufacturing plant in Hagerstown, MD. Read more about this exciting trip here! 

The Mechanical Engineering Department at the United States Naval Academy welcomes CDR Soonkook Hong to its faculty as an Assistant Professor. You can read more about CDR Hong's background and expertise here.

Prof. Joel Schubbe is determining the mechanisms that result in materials degradation due to a newly recognized phenomenon called Corrosion Fatigue. You can read more about his work in a recent issue of Advanced Materials & Processes.


The mechanical engineering program supports the Academy's mission by providing midshipmen with a broad education in mechanical engineering subjects and a knowledge of fundamental engineering principles that enhance their ability to understand and design naval systems and to supervise the operation of these systems.   The Mechanical Engineering Department strives to maintain faculty, curriculum, and supporting facilities which facilitate excellence in undergraduate teaching.

The Mechanical Engineering program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET,

Contact Information

United States Naval Academy 
Mechanical Engineering Department 
590 Holloway Road 
Annapolis, Maryland 21402

Telephone: 410 293 6500
Fax 410 293 3041
Email USNA ME Dept
Yard mail Stop 11/C


Prof. Stephen Graham Receives ASTM Award of Merit and Title of Fellow for Contributions to Fatigue and Fracture Standards

Stephen Graham has received the ASTM International Award of Merit. The award, which includes the accompanying title of ASTM fellow, is the highest organizational recognition for individual contributions to standards activities.

Prof. Michelle Koul Receives Best Paper Recognition

The Editorial Review Board of the Journal of Failure Analysis and Preventionvoted the paper " An Environmentally Assisted Cracking Evaluation of UNS 64200 (Al-Si-Bronze) and UNS C63200 (Ni-Al-Bronze)" as the Best Paper in the journal during 2013. 

Prof. Karen Flack is elected Fellow of the American Physics Society

The American Physics Society, Division of Fluid Dynamics, has elected Karen Flack as a Fellow for her clarifying work on the structure of three dimensional turbulent boundary layers, and for better characterizing the connections between surface roughness geometry and boundary layer drag.

Back to top