Faculty and Staff  

sample_masthead1.jpg

Name

Email

Phone

Ph.D., Old Dominion University
Research Interests:

Physical Oceanography, Tides, Currents

schulz@usna.edu 3.6563
CDR Elizabeth Sanabia, Associate Chair
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:Tropical Cyclones (structure and convection), 

Ocean Impact on Tropical Cyclone Intensity

 sanabia@usna.edu 3.6556
Brad Barrett, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Research Interests:
Tropical Cyclones, Upper Ocean Thermal

Variability, MJO

bbarrett@usna.edu 3.6567
CAPT Joseph Brenner
M.S., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:

Arctic, Climate, Unmanned Systems

brenner@usna.edu 3.6551
CDR Mike Cooper
M.S., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:
Remote Sensing
 mjcooper@usna.edu 3.6554
Peter Guth, Professor 
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Research Interests:

Geomorphometry (geology and GIS)

pguth@usna.edu 3.6560
CDR Carl Hager
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:

Marine Bioacoustics, Polar Acoustic Research

hager@usna.edu 3.6561
Gina Henderson, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Research Interests:
Snow Cover, Atmospheric Circulation, 

Teleconnections, Arctic Climate

ghenders@usna.edu 3.6555
LT Cynthia Henze
M.S., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:

Ocean

henze@usna.edu 3.6574
Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Research Interests:

Optical Remote Sensing

 raylee@usna.edu

3.6752

Michele Morgado, Adjunct Instructor 
M.S., Nova Southeastern University

morgado@usna.edu 3.5623
Andrew Muller, Associate Professor 
Ph.D., Old Dominion University
Research Interests:

Coastal Ocean Dynamics

amuller@usna.edu 3.6569
CAPT Emil Petruncio
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:
Ocean Tides, Internal Waves,Satellite Remote Sensing of Ocean Fronts
 petrunci@usna.edu

 3.6553

 3.2500

Suzanna G. Ribblett, Adjunct Instructor 
M.S., University of Maryland
Research Interests:

Phytoplankton, Protistan Ecology

ribblett@usna.edu

3.6566

David Smith, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Texas A & M University
Research Interests:
Nor'easters, Mesoscale Storms, Climate

Variability

drsmith@usna.edu 3.6553
LCDR Dwight Smith
M.S., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:

Operational METOC, ASW

3.6566
Joseph Smith, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Boston
Research Interests:
Cycling of Constituents in Marine Systems, 

Biogeochemical Cycles

jpsmith@usna.edu 3.6568
Cecily Steppe, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Delaware
Research Interests:
Coastal Biophysical Coupling,
Population Dynamics of Fish and Invertebrates,

Habitat Restoration, Aquaculture

natunewi@usna.edu 3.6558
CDR William Swick
Ph.D., Naval Postgraduate School
Research Interests:

Riverine, Estuary, and Nearshore Processes

swick@usna.edu 3.6564
Back to top