Board of Visitors  


The duty of the Academy's Board of Visitors is to inquire into the state of morale and discipline, the curriculum, instruction, physical equipment, fiscal affairs, academic methods, and other matters relating to the academy which the Board decides to consider. The board consists of six members appointed by the President, three appointed by the Vice President, four appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one designated by the Senate Armed Services Committee and one designated by the House Armed Services Committee. The President of the United States receives an annual written report of the Board's findings and recommendations.

The 2012-2013 Board of Visitors

Appointed by the President:

The Honorable Nancy Johnson, Vice Chair
ADM John Nathman, USN (Ret.)
LtGen Frank Petersen, USMC (Ret.)
VADM Michelle Howard, USN
Mr. Roland Garcia
Mr. Robert Stein

Appointed by the Vice President:

Senator Barbara A. Mikulski, Maryland
Senator Benjamin L. Cardin, Maryland
Senator Mark S. Kirk, Illinois

Appointed by the Speaker of the House:

Rep. Dutch Ruppersberger, Maryland
Rep. Elijah Cummings, Maryland
Rep. John P. Kline, Minnesota
Rep. Rodney Frelinghuysen, New Jersey

Appointed by the Chairmen, SASC/HASC:

Senator John S. McCain, Arizona
Rep. Robert Wittman, Virginia, Chair

Approved 9/4/2012

Back to top