The Michelson Memorial Lecture Series Presents:

Dr. Vinton Cerf

"The Interplanetary Internet"

Monday, December 4, 2000
7:00 - 8:00 P.M.
Alumni Hall, US Naval Academy
Open to the Public

ABSTRACT: This talk will explore the origins of the Internet and consider the challenges associated with extending Internet operation to the inner and outer planets. We will consider the construction of an interplanetary backbone network and review the near and longer term plans for implementing this system. In addition, we will look at the changes in the Internet protocols needed to allow operation over high delay, high noise and variable capacity space channels.

Vinton G. Cerf

Vinton G. Cerf Widely known as a "Father of the Internet," Vinton G. Cerf is the co-designer of the TCP/IP protocols and the architecture of the Internet. During his tenure from 1976-1982 with the U.S. Department of Defense's Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), Cerf played a key role leading the development of Internet and Internet-related data packet and security technologies. In 1997, Cerf and his partner, Robert E. Kahn, were presented the U.S. National Medal of Technology by President Clinton, for founding and developing the Internet.

Dr. Cerf received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from UCLA, and holds honorary Doctorate degrees from the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich; Lulea University of Technology, Sweden; University of the Balearic Islands, Palma; Capitol College and Gettysburg College. Currently he is senior vice president of Internet Architecture and Technology for WorldCom.

The Michelson Lecture Series

Albert A. Michelson The Michelson Lecture Series, sponsored by the United States Naval Academy Class of 1969, commemorates the achievements of Albert A. Michelson, Naval Academy graduate and instructor, and the first American to receive a Nobel Prize. Each year since 1981, a distinguished scientist has come to the Naval Academy to present the Michelson Lecture. Past lecturers have included Admiral Grace Hopper and Nobel Laureate James A. Watson.