Day Date Day Lecture topic DOR Homework
1 1/8/2013 Tuesday The cycle of operations research 1.1
2 1/9/2013 Wednesday Example 1.1 1.2 1.1(a)-1.1(d)
3 1/11/2013 Friday definitions, gusek 1.3 1.2
4 1/14/2013 Monday Resource allocation 2.1 2.1,2.3*
5 1/16/2013 Wednesday Work scheduling 2.2 2.6
6 1/18/2013 Friday Blending 2.3 2.11*, 2.12
8 1/23/2013 Wednesday Production Process 2.5 2.9,2.10*
9 1/25/2013 Friday Multiperiod models 2.6 2.20
10 1/28/2013 Monday Multiperiod models 2.6 2.22
11 1/30/2013 Wednesday Sets, indices, and summations, oh my 2.3
12 2/1/2013 Friday Resource allocation redux 2.1 diet*
13 2/4/2013 Monday Work scheduling redux 2.2 2.7,2.8
14 2/6/2013 Wednesday Blending redux 2.3 2.13*, 2.14
15 2/8/2013 Friday Production process redux 2.5 TBD
16 2/11/2013 Monday Multiperiod redux 2.6 2.16,2.24,inventory,finco
17 2/13/2013 Wednesday review na
18 2/15/2013 Friday Test 1 na
20 2/20/2013 Wednesday Optimization algorithms-local search 5.1-5.4
21 2/22/2013 Friday Improving search, optimality, gradients 6.1-6.2 6.1, 6.2, 6.8, 6.9
22 2/25/2013 Monday Convexity, global optimality 6.3 6.14,6.18
23 2/27/2013 Wednesday Geometry/algebra of extreme points 7.1 7.2,7.3
24 3/1/2013 Friday Geometry, continued 7.1 7.4
25 3/4/2013 Monday Fundamental theorem of LP 7.2 handout
26 3/6/2013 Wednesday Basic solutions in canonical form 2.8,7.3 7.14,7.16
27 3/8/2013 Friday Basic solutions continued 7.3 7.17
28 3/18/2013 Monday Simplex method 8.1 8.1,8.2,8.3
29 3/20/2013 Wednesday Simplex method, continued 8.1 8.7
30 3/22/2013 Friday Simplex method, continued 8.1 8.7
31 3/25/2013 Monday Simplex method, continued 8.1 8.7
32 3/27/2013 Wednesday Simplex method, continued 8.1 8.7
33 3/29/2013 Friday Degeneracy, convergence 8.3 8.8
34 4/1/2013 Monday Two-phase method 8.4 8.11(a,b),8.12(a)
35 4/3/2013 Wednesday review na
36 4/5/2013 Friday Test 2 na
37 4/8/2013 Monday Bounds 9.1 9.1-9.4
38 4/10/2013 Wednesday The dual 9.2 9.5 (a,b)
39 4/12/2013 Friday duality theorems 9.3 9.6
40 4/15/2013 Monday duality theorems, zero-sum games 9.3 9.7,9.8
41 4/17/2013 Wednesday Zero-sum games 2.7 2.31
42 4/19/2013 Friday Zero-sum games part 1, part 2 handout
43 4/22/2013 Monday introduction to network models 2.9 2.43
44 4/24/2013 Wednesday optimality and shortest paths 12.2 handout
45 4/26/2013 Friday shortest paths interdiction handout handout
46 4/29/2013 Monday review
 
Last modified: Sat Apr 20 08:43:20 EDT 2013