SO262 Physical Geography

Fall 2012 Syllabus (10/18/2012)

SO262 Home page   Lesson Objectives    Prof Guth home page

Mon 8/20/2012 Course introduction Satellite Image presentation
Wed 8/22/2012 Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.1-35  
Fri 8/24/2012 Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.1-35  
Mon 8/27/2012 Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.1-35  
Wed 8/29/2012 Chapter 2 Solar energy and seasons p.39-73  
Fri 8/31/2012 Dublin Exercise Chapter 3 Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-109  
Tues 09/04/12 (Mon sched) Chapter 3 Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-109  
Wed 9/5/2012 Chapter 3 Quiz Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-109  
Fri 9/7/2012 Dublin Exercise due Chapter 4 Atmosphere and Ocean Circulation p.111-141  
Mon 9/10/2012 Chapter 4 Atmosphere and Ocean Circulation p.111-141  
Wed 9/12/2012 Chapter 5 Atmospheric Water and Weather p.145-191  
Fri 9/14/2012 Pirate exercise      
Mon 9/17/2012 Chapter 5 Atmospheric Water and Weather p.145-191  
Wed 9/19/2012 Chapter 6 Water resources p.193-219  
Fri 9/21/2012 Pirate exercise due Chapter 6
Watering Las Vegas
Water resources p.193-219  
Mon 09/24/12 x-week   Test review  
Wed 09/26/12 x-week Exam 1    
Fri 09/28/12 x-week Chapter 7 Global climate systems p.221-261  
Mon 10/1/2012 Chapter 7 Global climate systems p.221-261  
Wed 10/3/2012 Chapter 8 Plate tectonics p.221-261  
Fri 10/5/2012 Climate exercise   p.221-261  
Wed 10/10/2012 Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes    
Fri 10/12/2012 Tectonics exercise in class   p.297-335  
Mon 10/15/2012 Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes p.297-335  
Wed 10/17/2012 Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes p.297-335  
Fri 10/19/2012 Chapter 12 Oceans and coastal processes p.429-459 1--Azh
Mon 10/22/2012 Chapter 12 Oceans and coastal processes p.429-459 2--Bri
Wed 10/24/2012 Chapter 11 Weathering, Mass Movement, Karst p.373-363 3--Dod
Fri 10/26/2012 Chapter 11 Weathering, Mass Movement, Karst p.373-363 4--Vel
Mon 10/29/12 x-week Chapter 10 Sandy p.365-399  
Wed 10/31/12 x-week Chapter 10 River Systems and Landforms p.365-399 5--Bar
Fri 11/02/12 x-week Chapter 10 River Systems and Landforms p.365-399 6--Kin, 7--Bul
Mon 11/5/2012        
Wed 11/7/2012 Exam 2      
Fri 11/9/2012 Chapter 13 Wind processes and desert landscapes p.401-427 8--Sta
Wed 11/14/2012 Chapter 13 Wind processes and desert landscapes p.401-427 9--Bas
Fri 11/16/2012 Chapter 14/Exercise in class Glacial and Periglacial Landforms p.461-495 10--Che
Mon 11/19/2012 Chapter 14 Glacial and Periglacial Landforms p.461-495 11--Aya
Wed 11/21/12 early schedule   Military geography    
Mon 11/26/2012 Chapter 15 Soils p.499-523 12--Rod
Wed 11/28/2012 Chapter 15 Soils p.499-523 13--Kim
Fri 11/30/2012 Chapter 16 KMZ file Ecosystems and Biomes p.525-575 14--Pic
Mon 12/3/2012 Chapter 16 Ecosystems and Biomes p.525-575 15--Hoz
Wed 12/5/2012 Chapter 17 Projects due Earth and Humans p.577-585  
Fri 12/7/2012 Course review