SO286 (now SO262) Physical Geography

Spring 2007 Syllabus

SO262 Home page  Prof Guth home page

Lesson   Date   Chapter Topic Pages Student Presentation
1 Fri 1/5/07  

Course introduction

     
2 Mon 1/8/07   Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.2-32  
3 Wed 1/10/07   Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.2-32  
4 Fri 1/12/07   Chapter 1 Foundations of Geography: maps, remote sensing, and GIS p.2-32  
5 Wed 1/17/07   Chapter 2 Solar energy and seasons p.39-50  
6 Fri 1/19/07 Quiz Chapter 2 Solar energy and seasons p.39-50  
7 Mon 1/22/07   Chapter 3 Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-106  
8 Wed 1/24/07   Chapter 3 Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-106  
9 Fri 1/26/07   Chapter 3 Atmospheric Energy and Global Temperatures p.75-106  
10 Mon 1/29/07   Exercise 1      
11 Wed 1/31/07   Chapter 4 Atmosphere and Ocean Circulation p.111-133  
12 Fri 2/2/07   Chapter 4 Atmosphere and Ocean Circulation p.111-133  
13 Mon 2/5/07 Quiz Chapter 5 Atmospheric Water and Weather p.144-147, 157-164  
14 Wed 2/7/07   Chapter 5 Atmospheric Water and Weather p.144-147, 157-164  
15 Fri 2/9/07   Chapter 6 Water resources p.191-213  
16 Mon 2/12/07 start x-week Chapter 6 Water resources p.191-213  
17 Wed 2/14/07 Exam 1        
18 Fri 2/16/07   Chapter 7 Global climate systems p.217-257  
19 Wed 2/21/07   Chapter 7--Exercise in class Global climate systems p.217-257  
20 Fri 2/23/07   Chapter 7 Global climate systems p.217-257 1. HUP
21 Mon 2/26/07 Quiz Chapter 8 Plate tectonics    
22 Wed 2/28/07   Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes p.293-329 2. WEA
23 Fri 3/2/07   Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes p.293-329 3. STE
24 Mon 3/5/07   Chapter 9 Tectonics, Earthquakes, and Volcanoes p.293-329 4.HES
25 Wed 3/7/07 Quiz Chapter 10 Oceans and coastal processes p.421-450 5.RIC
26 Fri 3/9/07   Chapter 10 Oceans and coastal processes p.421-450  
27 Mon 3/19/07   Chapter 11 Weathering, Mass Movement, Karst p.333-352 6. COL
28 Wed 3/21/07   Chapter 11 Weathering, Mass Movement, Karst p.333-352 7. MIL
29 Fri 3/23/07   Chapter 11 River Systems and Landforms p.361-391  
30 Mon 3/26/07 start x-week Chapter 12 River Systems and Landforms p.361-391 8.CHA
31 Wed 3/28/07 Exam 2        
32 Fri 3/30/07   Chapter 12/Exercise in class River Systems and Landforms p.361-391  
33 Mon 4/2/07   Chapter 13 Wind processes and desert landscapes p.395-420 9. MCM
34 Wed 4/4/07   Chapter 13 Wind processes and desert landscapes p.395-420 10.LEW
35 Fri 4/6/07 Quiz Chapter 14 Glacial and Periglacial Landforms p.451-485  
36 Mon 4/9/07   Chapter 14 Glacial and Periglacial Landforms p.451-485 11.ROD
37 Wed 4/11/07   Chapter 15 Soils p.490-514 12. TAY
38 Fri 4/13/07   Chapter 15 Soils p.490-514 13. URB
39 Mon 4/16/07   Chapter 16 Ecosystems and Biomes p.515-562 14.MAH
40 Wed 4/18/07   Chapter 16/Exercise 4 Ecosystems and Biomes p.515-562  
41 Fri 4/20/07 Quiz Chapter 16 Ecosystems and Biomes p.515-562  
42 Mon 4/23/07   Chapter 17

Earth and Humans

 

15.SCO

43 Wed 4/25/07   Course review      
44 Fri 4/27/07   Student Poster Presentations      

Faculty teaching SO262: