SO432--GIS

Fall 2008 Lectures

(11/25/2008)

SO432 Home Page   Labs   Objectives

Wed 08/20/08   Course introduction
Mon 08/25/08   Chap 2 Maps & GIS Part I
Wed 08/27/08   Chap 2 Maps & GIS Part II
Mon 09/01/08 Labor Day  
Wed 09/03/08   Chap 3 (Digital Representation Geography)
Mon 09/08/08   Chap 3 (Digital Representation Geography)
Wed 09/10/08    
Mon 09/15/08   Chap 4 (Data Quality & Standards)
Wed 09/17/08   Chap 5 (Raster GIS)
Mon 09/22/08   Chap 5 (Raster GIS)
Wed 09/24/08  

Exam 1

Mon 09/29/08   Vertical Datums
Wed 10/01/08   Chap 6 (Vector GIS)
Mon 10/06/08   Chap 6 (Vector GIS)
Wed 10/08/08 Project topic due Chap 7 (Visualization)
Mon 10/13/08 Columbus Day  
Wed 10/15/08   Chap 7 (Visualization)
Mon 10/20/08   Chap 8 (Remote Sensing)
Wed 10/22/08 Project database design Chap 8 (Remote Sensing)
Mon 10/27/08   Chap 9 (Digital Terrain Modeling)
Wed 10/29/08  

Chap 9 (Digital Terrain Modeling)

Mon 11/3/08   Exam 2
Wed 11/5/08   Exam review
Mon 11/10/08   NGA data
Wed 11/12/08 Project data report NGA data in class exercise
Mon 11/17/08   Chap 10 (Spatial Analysis)
Wed 11/19/08   Chap 10 (Spatial Analysis)
Mon 11/24/08   ECDIS and DNC
Wed 11/26/08  

GIS and Archaeology

Mon 12/1/08   Chap 11 (Project Management)
Wed 12/3/08 Poster Projects due by noon Chap 12 (Issues and Prospects)
Mon 12/8/08 KMZ Projects due by noon. Course Review