SO503 Spring 2004

Lecture Syllabus (4/6/2004)

Labs

Mon 12-Jan Scientific societies

Visit these web sites, and come to class ready to discuss the functions of a scientific society:

  • Discuss the role of scientific professional societies in holding meetings, publishing papers, and publishing newsletters.
  • Describe the funding of scientific research with grants, and the difference between "hard" and "soft" money.
  • Understand the role of "big science" versus individual research projects.
  • Know the major funding agencies for earth sciences: NSF and ONR, and the difference between NRL and ONR.
  • Wed 14-Jan Scientific writing and presentations
  • Discuss the importance of priority in scientific research, and the role of refereed and peer reviewed journals.
  • Understand the importance of abstracts, and the need for clear, concise, and informative abstracts.
  • Describe the importance of oral and poster presentations for scientific research. 
  • Mon 19-Jan MLK Birthday  
    Wed 21-Jan Research opportunities  
    Mon 26-Jan Nile Delta Submergence

    Paper anatomy

    Wed 28-Jan EOS:  future of geosciences Come to class prepared to discuss the  reading.
    Mon 2-Feb EOS: Marine Micro-ogranisms and pack ice, Come to class prepared to discuss the  reading.
    Wed 4-Feb EOS: Ridge earthquakes Come to class prepared to discuss the  reading.
    Mon 9-Feb Exam  
    Wed 11-Feb Bathymetry from Space Possible, EOS, 4 Feb 2003  
    Mon 16-Feb Presidents Day  
    Wed 18-Feb Photoradiometer  
    Mon 23-Feb Reading EOS
    • Understand what types of things are included in EOS.

    • Understand the role of a staff or science writer.

    • Interpret job listings in EOS.

    Wed 25-Feb Military Applications and Search Engines Write a paper (at least 500 words, 2 scholarly references) on the relationship of some part of oceanography or meteorology to the military.  This will be due Wed, 3 March.
    Mon 1-Mar Remote Sensing
  • Understand the relationships among wavelength, bandwidth, radiometric resolution, spatial resolution, and signal to noise ratio, and how these vary with position in the electromagnetic spectrum.

  • Discuss the tradeoffs involved with increasing spatial resolution.

  • Discuss the reasons why remote sensing concentrates on certain parts of the electromagnetic spectrum.

  • Wed 3-Mar

    EOS: Carbon cycle and climate change

     
    Mon 8-Mar Writing  
    Wed 10-Mar Mt Erebus volcanic monitoring  
    Mon 15-Mar Spring Break  
    Wed 17-Mar Spring Break  
    Mon 22-Mar Scientific Graphics  
    Wed 24-Mar  
    Mon 29-Mar

    Eos, 23 March 2004

    • AGU Publications

    • Climate Reconstructions

     
    Wed 31-Mar GIS

    Defense Mapping School Handout

  • Discuss the components and importance of GIS.

  • Discuss the types of data used in a GIS: vector, raster, and grid.

  • Discuss the uses of filtering and querying available with a GIS, and how they help scientific inquiry.

  • Discuss why GIS relates so well to the earth sciences.

  • Mon 5-Apr Exam 2  
    Wed 7-Apr Time Series
    1. Use the Nyquist frequency to develop a sampling strategy for a periodic function.

    2. Describe the use of Fourier analysis to investigate the periodic nature of a time series.

    3. Differentiate cross correlation and autocorrelation, and define lags and the correlation coefficient.