USNA News Center

USNA News Center

Picture Name

USNA Faculty Members Selected for Promotion

  POSTED ON: Wednesday, April 8, 2015 8:15 AM by Naval Academy Public Affairs

The Naval Academy honored members of the faculty who were selected for promotion Apr. 7 at the Faculty Promotion and Tenure Ceremony in Memorial Hall.

Promoted to Associate Professor effective mid-August 2015:

CDR David M. Ruth, USN, Mathematics

Promoted to Associate Professor with tenure effective mid-August 2015:

Sharika D. Crawford, History
Carolyn Q. Judge, Naval Architecture and Ocean Engineering
Michael R. Kellerman, Political Science
Brian A. Munson, Mathematics
David J. Phillips, Mathematics
Donald L. Wallace, History

Promoted to Full Professor effective mid-August 2015:

R. Temple Cone, English
Amy E. Ksir, Mathematics
Jeffrey A. Larsen, Physics
Shirley Lin, Chemistry
Dianne J. Luning-Prak, Chemistry
Thomas M. McCarthy, History
Jenelle A. Piepmeier, Weapons and Systems Engineering
Brian J. Rehill, Chemistry
Jamie L. Schlessman, Chemistry
Virginia F. Smith, Chemistry

The Naval Academy faculty consists of nearly 600 officers and civilians in roughly equal numbers. This composition is unique among service academies and dates from the earliest days of the Naval School (as the academy was then known) when three civilian teachers joined four Navy officers in the first faculty in 1845.

Category: People, Academics

Press Contact

Public Affairs Office