Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership

Fellowship Program


One of the Center’s cornerstone programs is the Resident Fellowship.  This unique and multidisciplinary fellowship brings together civilian academics and military professionals to study a timely topic relevant to military operations.  The fellows participate in a weekly research seminar, conduct independent and joint research, serve as guest instructors to the Midshipmen, travel to meet with other experts in the field, publish their analyses in journals and books, produce instructional materials for the Academy curriculum, and make presentations at the Academy and other national and international forums.

The Center advertises widely each year for Resident Fellowship candidates, and the Center’s Dean of Research and Director of the Office of Research and Scholarship in Ethics review all submitted applications.  The Center selects three Resident Fellows each year.

The Stockdale Center Resident Fellowship has helped launch academic careers for several of its newly-minted Ph.D. fellows, including: Dr. Alycia LaGuardia-LoBianco (Grand Valley State University), Dr. Adam Betts (Bloomsburg University), Dr. Doyle Hodges (Texas National Security Review), Dr. Andrew Bell (Indiana University), Dr. Michael Robillard (University of Notre Dame), Dr. Ashleen Bagnulo (Texas State University), Dr. Jesse Kirkpatrick (George Mason University), Dr. Bradley Strawser (Naval Postgraduate School) and Dr. Valerie Morkevicius (Colgate University).


 Apply to the Fellowship Program for 2021-2022


Academic Year 2020-21 Research Effort

This year’s research seminar and McCain Conference will examine "The Ethics of Espionage and Grey Zone Operations." 

In addition to this year's fellows, the following Stockdale staff are participating in this year’s work:

  • Dr. Ed Barrett, Director of Strategy and Research, Stockdale Center, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Dr. David Luban, the Distinguished Chair of Ethics, Stockdale Center, U.S. Naval Academy
  • Mr. Mitt Regan, Senior Research Fellow, Stockdale Center, U.S. Naval Academy    


Current Fellows

Generously funded by USNA Classes of 1958 and 1962, and by a 10 year gift of support from Donald and Beverly Freeman.


Dr. Elizabeth Radziszewski - Class of 1962 Fellow

Dr. Elizabeth Radziszewski 

Elizabeth Radziszewski, Ph.D. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science and the Master’s program in Homeland Security at Rider University in New Jersey. She is the author of Private Militaries and the Security Industry in Civil Wars (Oxford University Press, 2020) and Social Networks and Public Support for the European Union (Routledge, 2013). Her research on civil wars/insurgencies, international conflict, foreign policy, and creativity/innovation has been published in the Wilson Quarterly, Journal of Conflict Resolution, Small Wars & Insurgencies, Journal of Political Science Education, Foreign Policy Analysis, Journal of Global Security Studies, International Interactions, and Political Research Quarterly. Outside of work, Dr. Radziszewski enjoys spending time with her niece/nephew, ice dancing, and exploring the outdoors.


Dr. Marc LiVecche - Class of 1958 Fellow

Marc Livecche


Marc LiVecche received his doctorate from the University of Chicago, with distinction, in 2015, under the supervision of the political theorist Jean Bethke Elshtain. Following graduation, he moved to Washington, DC, and helped found Providence: A Journal of Christianity & American Foreign Policy, for which he is executive editor. From 2018-2020, he was the McDonald Research Scholar, in residence at The McDonald Centre [sic!] for Theology, Ethics, and Public Life at Christ Church College, Oxford University. His first book, The Good Kill: Just War & Moral Injury, is forthcoming from Oxford University Press. James Turner Johnson: Just War Historian, co-edited with Eric Patterson, a collection of essays examining the scholarly work of Jim Johnson, will be released this fall by Stone Tower Press. Currently, he is finalizing Moral Horror: A Just War Defense of Hiroshima. During this fellowship year, he will work on a book-length primer on Christian realism and foreign policy. Since repatriating this July, Marc has settled in Annapolis, where he lives with his wife and children--and a marmota monax whistlepigging under the back shed.  


Dr. Pierce Randall - Donald and Beverly Freeman Fellow

Pierce Randall








Pierce Randall received his doctorate in Philosophy from the University of Pennsylvania. He has taught courses in ethics, human rights, social contract theory, and environmental ethics. His research focuses on competing conceptions of liberalism and economic justice. He also works on normative political economy, democratic theory, and duties to future persons. He was a fellow at the Mercatus Center from 2017-18.  Pierce has presented work on the rationality of voting, the ethics of gun control, public reason, and the right of exit migration. He is currently working on a project on the relationship between public finance, public justification, and political legitimacy.

Fellowship Alumni


  • Dr. Marcus Hedhal
  • Dr. Heather Pangle 
  • Dr. Pierce Randall

2018 - 2019

  • Dr. Brent Kyle
  • Dr. Joshua Kassner
  • Dr. Alycia LaGurdia-LoBianco

2017 - 2018

  • Dr. Adam Betz
  • Dr. Chris Eberle
  • Dr. Doyle Hodges

2016 - 2017

  • Dr. Adam Betz
  • Dr. Andrew Bell
  • Dr. David Lefkowitz

2015 - 2016

  • Dr. Jeff Black
  • Dr. Michael Skerker
  • Dr. Michael Robbillard

2014 - 2015

  • Dr. Ashleen Bagnulo
  • Dr. Jessica Wolfendale
  • Dr. Joe Capizzi

 2013 - 2014

  • Dr. Joe Capizzi (Sponsored by USNA Class of 1958)
  • Dr. Scott Davis (Sponsored by USNA Class of 1962)
  • Dr. Jesse Kirkpatrick

2012 - 2013

  • Dr. Scott Davis (Sponsored by USNA Class of 1958)
  • Dr. Chris Hill (Sponsored by USNA Class of 1962)
  • Dr. Alec Chance

2011 - 2012

  • Dr. Dr. Chris Eberle
  • Dr. Randall Dipert
  • Dr. Brad Strawser
  • Dr. Pano Yannakogeorgos

2010 - 2011

  • Dr. Henri Hude
  • Dr. Valerie Morkevicius
  • Dr. William H. Shaw

2009 - 2010

  • Dr. Stephen Coleman
  • Brigadier General Richard O'Meara USA (Ret.)
  • Dr. Patrick Lin , Ph.D.
  • Dr. Brad Allenby, Ph.D, Arizona State University
  • Dr. Max Mehlman, J.D. Ph.D, Case Western Reserve University

2008 - 2009

  • Dr. Susan Marble Barranca
  • Major Richard T. Higdon, USAF, MSC
  • CDR Joseph J. McInerney, USN
  • Dr. Thomas B. Grassey

2007 - 2008

  • LTCOL Guy Jordan, USMC
  • Dr. Ed Barrett, Ph.D.
  • Dr. Clementine Fujimura, Ph.D

2006 - 2007

  • LTCOL Bob Durkin, USMC
  • Capt. Tom Webber, USN
  • Ms. Vicki Divoll