Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Political Science Department

Professor Brendan J. Doherty

Brendan J. Doherty is a Professor of Political Science at the United States Naval Academy, where he teaches courses on the presidency, campaigns and elections, Congress, and American politics. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley and his B.A. from Dartmouth College. In 2006-2007, he served as a Congressional Fellow of the American Political Science Association.

Doherty’s research has centered on the intersection of campaigning and governing. He is the author of Fundraiser in Chief: Presidents and the Politics of Campaign Cash (2023) and The Rise of the President’s Permanent Campaign (2012). His research has been featured in numerous media outlets, including The Washington PostThe New York TimesThe Wall Street JournalUSA TodayThe Economist, and Bloomberg Businessweek.

His other published work has examined presidential fundraising, strategic presidential travel, the electoral implications of cabinet appointments, the Electoral College, presidential economic policymaking, Senate leadership, proportional representation in legislatures, speech restrictions in judicial campaigns, the Marshall Court and federalism, the political participation of dual citizens, and appeals to Spanish-speaking voters in presidential elections.

Doherty won the 2012 Founders Award for the best conference paper by a Ph.D.-holding scholar from the American Political Science Association’s Presidents and Executive Politics section.  He has been awarded research grants from the Naval Academy Research Council, the Lyndon Baines Johnson Foundation, the George Bush Presidential Library Foundation, the American Political Science Association, and the Institute of Governmental Studies and the Graduate Division at the University of California, Berkeley. While at Berkeley, his teaching was honored with an Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award. In 2012 he received an honorable mention for the Naval Academy’s Apgar Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Personal Website

go to Top