Political Science Department

Academics Program Information

The Department of Political Science major consists of 30 credit hours which include 4 required courses: American Government (FP130), International Relations (FP210), Comparative Politics (FP230), Political Science Methods (FP220) and a 1/C capstone seminar (FP471). The 6 remaining electives are selected, in consultation with faculty academic advisers, to emphasize areas of interest.

Midshipmen in the classes of 2017 and 2016 select an area of concentration (American Politics and Law, Comparative Politics, or International Relations and Security Studies) in consultation with their advisors and this imposes a distribution requirement on political science electives.

An honors program with a designated honors degree is available for selected midshipmen (see honors program for more details).

go to Top