Skip to main content Skip to footer site map
Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering Faculty

The mechanical engineering department is composed of a mix of civilian and military faculty members. The strong civilian component (approx. 65%) is unique among service academies, and dates from the earliest days of the Naval School.

Officers typically rotate to the Academy for two or three year assignments, bringing fresh ideas and experiences from operational units of the Navy and Marine Corps. They can also explain how studies at the Academy apply in the fleet and the field. A cadre of officer faculty with doctorates adds another dimension to the teaching staff as Permanent Military Professors.

The Academy’s civilian faculty members give continuity to the educational program and form a core of professional scholarship and teaching experience. All career civilian faculty members have doctoral degrees, and many of them are leading scholars in their fields. Working together, our military and civilian instructors form one of the strongest and most dedicated teaching faculties of any college or university in the United States.

Permanent Faculty

Brad Baker, CDR, Assistant Professor
Stuart Blair, CDR, Assistant Professor, Assoc Chair
Cody Brownell , Associate Professor
John Burkhardt, Associate Professor
Matt Carr, CAPT, Assistant Professor
Patrick Caton, Professor
Marty Cerza, Professor
Jim Cowart, Professor
Linda Craugh, CDR, Assistant Professor
Karen Flack, Professor
Steve Graham, Professor, Dept Chair
Elizabeth Getto, Assistant Professor
Lori Goodenough, LCDR, JPMP
Steve Graham, Professor
Len Hamilton, CAPT (ret), Professor
Peter Joyce, Professor
Michelle Koul, Professor
Keith Lindler, Professor
Richard Link, Professor
Ethan Lust, LCDR, JPMP
Luksa Luznik , Associate Professor
Samar Malek, Assistant Professor
Stephen McHale, LTC, Assistant Professor
Marshall Millett , Assistant Professor
Steve Miner, Professor
Angela Moran, Professor
Patrick Moran, Professor
Mark Murray, Professor
Marty Nelson, Professor
Joshua Radice, Associate Professor
Colin Ratcliffe, Professor
Emily Retzlaff, Assistant Professor
Joel Schubbe, Associate Professor
Andrew Smith, Professor
Ralph Volino, Professor
Ronald Warzoha, Assistant Professor

Instructors, Visiting, Adjunct and Research Professors

Kevin Burnett
Travis Chapman
Wallace Elger
Tyler Jackson
Andria Jones
Michael Martin
Cory McLaughlin
Kyle Milden

Emeritus Faculty

Al Adams
Mark Harper
Jim Joyce
Bob Wu
go to Top